Under 15s County Restricted

Sarah Lewin became Norfolks second triple champion of the season when she won all three titles at the County Under 15s Restricted Championships. In the singles she had a comfortable 11-3 semi-final victory over Emma Davies, while Stephanie Rowland beat Charlotte Crosby in the other semi to set up a final which Sarah won 11-5. Her second title of the day came when she teamed up with Davies to win the girls doubles crown. Rowland and Crosby took second place. She then completed her hat trick of titles by partnering Chris Piff to victory in the mixed doubles over Ryan Minns and the unfortunate Stephanie Rowland, who finished her day with three runner up medals.The losing semi-finalists were Lucas Lefevre and Emma Davies and the brother and sister team of Thomas and Jessica Rutherford.

The surprise of the Championships came in the boys singles event when reigning champion, Chris Piff, failed to reach the quarter final knock-out stage. This left brothers Lucas and Kurtis Lefevre with an easy run into the final with comfortable 15-2 semi-final victories over Craig Thomas and Lee Robinson. In a closely contested final Kurtis took an early lead, but Lucas fought back to become the new singles champion with a 15-12 victory. There was another closely fought final in the boys doubles, when Jamie Smith and Ryan Minns beat Chris Piff and Lucas Lefevre 15-11. The losing semi-finalists were Kurtis Lefevre and Craig Thomas and Matthew Page and Lee Robinson.

Overall.it was a well contested tournament, with a good entry including, for the first time, some players from North Walsham and Cromer. The Under 13s Championships take place on 13th November and entry forms can be obtained from the Area representatives or down loaded from www.norfolkbadminton.co.uk.

* Pupils from Gravesend Grammar School in Kent visited Norfolk for a friendly match, but the visitors returned home well beaten by a strong home side 10-0,10-0 and 6-4. Representing Norfolk in Group A were Jonathan Cooper, Daniel Evans, Andrew Piff and Ed Leng. In Group B were Rohan Chitale, James Worthington-Hill, Alex Neale and Lee Thomas and in Group C, David Leers, Lee Robinson, Jack Marshall-Grint and David Green.